top of page


[Trombonist] [Composer] [Music Tech]

Ricardo Arbiza, an Uruguayan musician: trombonist, composer, and music technologist awarded with the 2018 Fulbright Scholarship and the 2019 Organization of the American States (OAS) scholarship to complete graduate studies in the US, is intensely active in the New York City area.

As a performer, he has performed in multiple settings, from symphonic orchestras such as the Uruguayan National Symphony Orchestra and the UN Symphony Orchestra to salsa bands like Tito Nieves and Ayme Nuviola as well as several big bands, military bands, and pop groups on tour throughout Latin America.

As a composer, he has premiered pieces in Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, Spain, and the United States, having some of them awarded both nationally, and internationally. His explorative interests include experimental music; the design, and development of DIY electroacoustic and virtual instruments, electronic circuits, and electronic hacking. 

In the area of sound art, in 2023 participated in the artistic residency of Binaural Nodar in Portugal, Vouzela, and presented workshops for art residents at the Asian Art Center in Gwangju, South Korea. Ricardo is currently co-leading the Sonic Time Machine project, which aims to travel in time through the lens of sound, as part of the recovery and reconstruction of the soundscape of the UNESCO World Heritage site Frigorifico Anglo, located in Fray Bentos, Uruguay. This project was awarded and funded by UNESCO to create an interactive, and dynamic permanent sound installation.

Ricardo holds a Bachelor's Degree in Music Composition from Uruguay (UDELAR-EUM), a Master's Degree in Orchestral Instruments: Trombone from The New School’s Mannes School of Music (New York). Currently is a Ph.D. Candidate in Music Performance and Composition at New York University, under the advice of Dr. Robert Rowe and the tutelage of David Taylor, and teacher at UTEC (Technology University of Uruguay). 

Click to download
UPDATED: 03-2024

bottom of page